top of page
  • Writer's pictureflicksn books

The Real Definition of Love


It was 6 in the morning. The morning prayers started at the temple nearby. The sounds of birds chirping broke the quietness of the early morning, As the sun began to rise, the sounds of chanting and prayer echoed through the air. I made my morning cup of coffee, sat on the couch of the balcony, and looked around, I saw an elderly couple walking on the ground of our apartment. I see them every day. They seem very peaceful and greet everyone with a great smile. I understood the meaning of serenity from their lifestyle.

An hour later I woke up my husband, Arjun, and my two kids Jaanu and Koushik. I got them ready for school. Meanwhile, Radha came over and made delicious dosa with chutney for breakfast and dal and roti for lunch. My husband works as a clerk in a bank and I work in a small school as a drawing teacher just to meet our daily needs. I get merely paid but it helps me in both ways, I can earn a little money, and also it's fun to teach art to kids. I usually try to save this money to buy something for my kids. Jaanu’s birthday is approaching. She’s turning 7 this month. She is a little impulsive when it comes to possessions. As she is the little one of the two,we kind of pamper her more than my son who is 4 years elder to her. She is asking for a bicycle till doomsday. My son instead never asks for anything. He has always been found with books or playing cricket with his friends.

We were penny-pinching to buy her a bicycle as a birthday present. My husband came home. we sat together and started budgeting our monthly expenses. When the kids had arrived from school, Arjun asked them to get ready for shopping but Koushik denied because he had some work to do. Jaanu looked very excited. she was cheering, clapping, and dancing, but my son seemed dull, I could sense that something is bothering him, and when I asked, he said he was stressed about the next day's exam. I tried to cheer him up.

A few hours later the father and daughter returned home with a cricket set. Jaanu is carrying it, and it appeared to be bigger than the girl, but her face looked as bright as the stars in the sky.

When I had asked about the bicycle, she replied she didn’t want a bicycle or a birthday party.

She started calling Koushik and he came out and was surprised to see a cricket kit in her hands. She said, “Come take it, How long should I carry this? It’s too heavy”.She handed it over to him and said “Now you can play in the tournament.” Kaushik got tears in his eyes, and he asked how did she know about it. I was astonished by the entire incident and Arjun started narrating the whole story.I asked her “Jaanu, Which one do you want to buy first, a bicycle or a new dress?She replied “Neither of them dad, let's go to the sports shop”.I questioned her that why did we need to go there?She said that she would answer when we reach the shop.When we had arrived at the shop,She said “Dad, Anna needs a cricket kit in order to play in the tournament, one of my friends from school told me that he was out of the team because he didn't have it. But he didn't tell us because you are buying me a cycle. I neither need a cycle nor a birthday party let's buy this for him. When he wins we will celebrate.” I was speechless, I got tears in my eyes and praised her. Then we bought a cricket kit and a simple birthday dress.

After listening to this Kaushik, holding his tears hugged Jaanu and thanked her.

I asked Kaushik why didn't he tell us before, He replied that grandpa and grandma who walks daily on the ground once said,

“Love is prioritizing other’s needs before us”.

You and Dad always do the same thing for us and I did because I love her. I don't want to upset her by taking her birthday present. neither did I want to burden you with buying both at a time.

Tears flowed down my cheek, The room got filled with tears of emotion. We hugged both of them and we are so proud as parents to see this level of understanding in our children.

A few days later,

Koushik won the tournament and we pushed the boat out and had a party with all the family members, we invited the old couple and thanked them for imbibing the real definition of love in our children's hearts.

I am Manaswini, and this is my story.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Sign-Up to Our Newsletter

Thanks for submitting!

  • White YouTube Icon
  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Twitter Icon
  • White Instagram Icon

© 2035 by BOOKS&FLICKS. Powered and secured by Wix

bottom of page